New Week, New Thoughts, New Love

Image

As I began my Monday morning in class, I had a mini panic attack as I wrote down the date. Wow…my favorite month is almost coming to an end. And more importantly, have I even written a single post this month? The semester started recently and you can only imagine how busy I have been– but still, that is no excuse. You will be happy to know that I have set up a blogging schedule that I will hopefully stick to! Okay so enough of my excuses, let’s cut to the chase. I have been thinking of this post ever since the idea hit me when I was studying for my microbiology exam on February 13th! I will confess that I do not regret delaying this post only because if I wrote it the day I thought of it, it would have been a cocktail of incoherence and microbiology terminology. Okay, here goes: 

“That’s what happens when you vaccinate, your body makes memory cells so next time your body sense the infection, your body will give an amplified response and the infection will not stand a chance.”

Ah-ha! I got it! No, not the lecture material, I got an idea*lightbulb moment*. Valentine’s Day– a day of love, but can also be a depressing one for some unfortunate souls. Those who got their heart broken, were deceived, dumped, lied to, cheated on…erm..I’ll stop there (if it makes you feel any better, I am single as well). Anyways, as I was listening to my lecture recording, it hit me. If at any point in your life you have gone through a rough relationship or spent the best years of your life on that heartless soul, do not beat yourself up about it; don’t regret it. As a matter of fact, think of that person as your vaccine–your shot. It hurt right? Made you cry huh? But hey you know what? It made you stronger; you are now immune against jerks and d-bags. You are better. Your body was going along its merry way and thought it was protected; must have thought “hmm, nah, won’t happen to me”–but then it comes. That heartless person attacks you like a virus and you did not even see it coming. It’s okay…happens to the best of us. But after you are done fighting off that virus or infection, your body knows–you know. It is built in your memory; your memory cells recognized the virus, that parasite, and will prepare the next time it encounters that germ. You will have made antibodies, you will be strong, you will know. Infection was not strong enough to kill ya, but what does not kill you can only make you stronger. 

Enjoy the remainder of February; I know I sure will and will continue to carry the lovey dovey-ness even after the 28th. I simply can not help it–I am a girly girl and a month where the colors pink and red are celebrated…well, I could not have asked for anything better; although, a box of Ferrero Rocher would simply be heavenly.

 

Peace & LOVE,

~Bena…

One thought on “New Week, New Thoughts, New Love

Leave a Reply

